What are the National Recognition Programs?

The College Board National Recognition Programs award academic honors to high-performing, underrepresented students. The five national recognition programs include the National African American Recognition Program, National First-Generation Recognition Program (beginning in 2024), National Hispanic Recognition Program, National Indigenous Recognition Program, and National Rural and Small Town Recognition Program.

Recipients are strong academic performers. Students who take eligible administrations of the PSAT/NMSQT, PSAT 10, or AP Exams and meet the score requirements are considered for awards. Students must also identify as African American/Black, Hispanic/Latino, Indigenous/Native American, first-generation, and/or attend high school in a rural area or small town. Many colleges intentionally recruit awardees, and school communities often celebrate students who receive these awards.

Related Topics